Fox Footy’s Anthony Hudson named the AFL’s best TV commentator

Fox Footy’s Anthony Hudson has been named the AFL’s Best TV Commentator by the Australian Football Media Association.

After one of the most unpredictable AFL seasons in a generation, the AFMA has revealed the 2020 winners of their annual awards.

Hudson narrowly trumped Channel 7’s James Brayshaw for the television commentary prize, which was judged on “colour/flair, accuracy, use of the language and an ability to marry the words with the pictures.”

The AFMA said in a statement: “In a close decision, Anthony Hudson’s entry showcased his informed calling, good use of language and ability to insert background stories into the relevant players such as Joe Daniher and Josh Daicos.

“Brayshaw’s call of Jack Newnes’ goal was also memorable, but Hudson’s entry was judged slightly ahead overall.”

Catch Fox Footy’s Grand Final Week coverage on Kayo. Stream all the latest news and insight right up until first bounce plus halftime and full-time analysis from the Fox Footy commentary team. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >

Hudson was also awarded Best Radio Commentator for his work on SEN, while ABC’s Alister Nicholson received a commendable mention.

Anthony Hudson, James Brayshaw and Nick Riewoldt.Source:Getty Images

“(Hudson) generates a great atmosphere with his call, which is especially important this season without the usual crowds,” the AFMA said.

“His voice rises to the occasion and he commentates with clarity and authority. Knows when to pause to allow the crowd in. Highly absorbing, entertaining and informative caller.”

Meanwhile, St Kilda great Nick Riewoldt was named the Best Special Commentator (TV and radio), beating former teammate Leigh Montagna for the honour.

“Nick Riewoldt is head and shoulders above the others,” the AFMA said.

“He provides insightful, clear and concise analysis, and knows when to take a less-serious view at footy when the game needs it.”

The gong for Best Action Photo went to Quinn Rooney of Getty Images for a picture of Geelong star Mark Blicavs and his handball during the Cats’ qualifying final against Collingwood.

The Herald Sun’s Michael Klein came out on top in the other category of Best News or Feature Photo.

Mark Blicavs of the Cats handballs during the qualifying final match against the Collingwood Magpies.Source:Getty Images


Best News Reporter — Glen Quartermain, The Sunday Times

Best Feature Writer — Russell Jackson, ABC

Best Opinion and Analysis — Jake Niall, The Age

Best AFLW Reporting — Lauren Wood, Herald Sun

Best TV Program — AFL360, Fox Footy

Best Radio Program — Gerard Whateley AFL Nation, SEN

Best Podcast — Sacked, Herald Sun

Clinton Grybas Rising Star — Riley Beveridge, AFL Media

Alf Brown Award — Gerard Whateley

Source: Read Full Article