Jack Wighton wins 2020 Dally M Medal as NRL Team of the Year revealed

The Canberra Raiders’ Jack Wighton has been crowned the game’s best player, taking out the 2020 Dally M Award.

With social distancing still enforced, the game’s night of nights was a low key affair with only a select few contenders on the couch.

Catch Fox League’s Grand Final Week coverage on Kayo. Stream all the latest news and insight right up until kick off plus halftime and full-time analysis from the Fox League commentary team. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >

But despite the modest scenes, the count went down to the wire with just two points separating Wighton, Parramatta’s Clint Gutherson and the Panthers’ Nathan Cleary heading into the final round of the season.

However, none of the main contenders claimed votes in the final round for Wighton to be the first Raider since Laurie Daley in 1995 to win the award.

Wighton has become one of the best and most consistent performers in the NRL, guiding the Raiders to the preliminary final before coming up against the red hot Melbourne Storm.

Jack Wighton is the 2020 Dally M Medalist.Source:Getty Images

Wighton was stunned to nab the award.

“I can’t really explain, I’m actually speechless,” Wighton said on Fox League. “Coming here tonight with these guys, I really didn’t think I was going to walk away with this award. I don’t know what to say.”

Cleary was widely expected to be crowned the game’s best player but it was an incredibly narrow result.


Fullback of the Year: Clint Gutherson (Eels)

Wingers of the Year: David Nofoaluma (Tigers) and Josh Addo-Carr (Storm)

Centres of the Year: Kotoni Staggs (Broncos) and Stephen Crichton (Panthers)

Five-Eighth of the Year: Jack Wighton (Raiders)

Halfback of the Year: Nathan Cleary (Panthers)

Props of the Year: Josh Papalii (Raiders) and James Fisher-Harris (Panthers)

Hooker of the Year: Cameron Smith (Storm)

Second rower of the Year: Viliame Kikau (Panthers) and Tohu Harris (Warriors)

Lock of the Year: Isaah Yeo (Panthers)

Canberra’s Jack Wighton with James Tedesco, Clint Gutherson, Luke Keary and Nathan Cleary.Source:News Corp Australia


Dally M Player of the Year: Jack Wighton (Raiders)

Dally M Female Player of the Year: Ali Brigginshaw (Broncos)

Coach of the Year: Ivan Cleary (Panthers)

Provan Summons: New Zealand Warriors

Top Pointscorer: Adam Reynolds (Rabbitohs)

Rookie of the Year: Harry Grant (Tigers)

Ken Irvine Medalist (Highest tryscorer): Alex Johnston (Rabbitohs)

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment of the Year: Project Apollo

Captain of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors)

NRLW Rookie of the Year: Kennedy Cherrington (Roosters)

NRLW Try of the Year: Madison Bartlett (Warriors)

NRLW Tackle of the Year: Hannah Southwell (Roosters)

VB Hard Earned Player of the Year Award: Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles) and Tohu Harris (Warriors)

Try of the Year: Kotoni Staggs (Broncos)

Tackle of the Year: Josh Papalii (Raiders)

Source: Read Full Article