NRL Schoolboy Cup 2020: Westfields Sports High vs Patrician Brothers Blacktown

The NRL Schoolboy Cup NSW final has reached its crescendo with powerhouse schools Westfields Sports High and Patrician Brothers Blacktown to battle for the state title on Wednesday at Leichhardt Oval.

This is shaping as a schoolboys contest for the ages in a repeat of last year’s NSW final when

Westfields defeated Pats Blacktown 26-18 and are determined to remain state champions in 2020.

WHAT: Westfields Sports High vs Patrician Brothers Blacktown

WHEN: 2pm, Wednesday, November 11

WATCH: Click play on the video at the top of this story at 2pm

Westfields defeated Patrician Brothers Fairfield (20-12), St Dominic’s College (16-12) and Hills Sports High (28-18) on the way through to the final and are hitting form at the right time.

WATCH REPLAY: Westfields Sports defeat Hills Sports

Hooker Vlado Jankovic in action for Westfields Sports High Picture: Richard DobsonSource:News Corp Australia

Solomone Saukuru and Caleb Tohi’s x-factor enabled Westfields to pull ahead of Hills in last week’s tough semi final.

Patties, however, are determined to get revenge on their rivals and finish on top of the most disrupted and challenging Schoolboy Cup in history.

Noah Meares’ side powered past St Dominic’s College (26-4), St Gregory’s College (52-22) and Endeavour Sports High (32-24).

WATCH REPLAY: Patrician Brothers Blacktown defeat Endeavour Sports

Kristian-Li Mai on the attack for Pats Blacktown.. Picture: Toby ZernaSource:News Corp Australia

Halves Jakob Arthur and Isiaya Katoa starred in their semi final against Endeavour, pulling Patties out of a 10-point deficit in the last 15 minutes.

Most schoolboys play with and against each other in the junior representative arena, but this match will be the Year 12s last chance to run out for their schools.


Westfields Sports High: 1. Carson Kaho 2. Ashton Kolinisau 3. Solomone Saukuru 4. Vaiala Tamati 5. Keane Tavui 6. Joshua Parke 7. Joseph O’Neill 8. Solomon Akama 9. Vlado Jankovic 10. Apisalome Saukuru 11. Braydon Guyan 12. Caleb Kirikiti 13. Caleb Tohi BENCH: 14. Justin Matamua 15. Raymond Lole 16. Semisi-Taufui Lavulo 17. Sam Iese 18. Jarvis Leafa 19. Joshua Leiataua

Coaches: Wayne Lambkin, Troy Weeden, Luke Vella

Patrician Brothers Blacktown: 1. Sean Russell 2. Sione Lino 3. Sam Loizou 4. Sunia Turuva 5. Kristian-Li Mai 6. Isaiya Katoa 7. Jakob Arthur 8. David Langi 9. Bailey Nouredine 10. Jai Wynbergen-Titoko 11. Blake Martin 12. Uinitoni Mataele 13. Jontay-Junior Betham-Misa BENCH: 14. Ethan Sanders 15. John Sagaga 16. Lafaele Tauapai 17. Maximus Tupou 18. Jecii Pritchard 19. Alfred Uelese 20. Max Pritchard 21. Tyreece Tonga 22. Siotame Hansen 23. Myles Martin

Coach: Noah Meares



National titles won: 1

NSW titles won: 3

Notable NRL alumni: David Klemmer, Moses Suli, Jarryd Hayne, Issac Luke, David Fifita, Tommy Talau, Brandon Wakeham, Jason Saab, Blake Green, Tony Williams.

2020 Schoolboy Cup results: Defeated St Dominic’s College (16-12), defeated Patrician Brothers Fairfield (20-12), defeated Hills Sports High (28-18)

2020 tries: 12

2020 try scorers: Carson Kaho, Caleb Kirikiti, Semisi-Taufui Lavulo, Caleb Tohi (2), Solomone Saukuru (2) , Ashton kolinisau (2), Justin Matamua (2), Cooper Sinclair.


National titles won: 1

NSW titles: 7

Notable NRL alumni: Jarome Luai, Stephen Crichton, Brent Naden, Tyrone May, Spencer Leniu, Daine Laurie, Christian Crichton, Andrew Fifita, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Matt Moylan, Luke Lewis.

2020 Schoolboy Cup results: defeated St Gregory’s College (52-22), defeated St Dominic’s College (26-4), defeated Endeavour Sports High (32-24)

2020 tries: 19

2020 try scorers: Sean Russell (2), David Langai, Sunia Turuva (2), Jecii pritchard, Tauvao falaniko, Betham-Misa (2), Maxwell Prichard (2), Isaiya Katoa (3), Ethan Sanders, Kristian-Li Mai (2), Sam Loizou, Jakob Arthur.

Originally published asWestfields and Pats Blacktown in showdown for the ages

Source: Read Full Article