Europa League group stage draw: All you need to know

Who can still qualify? Which sides can the Premier League clubs face? And how will coronavirus affect the competition? All you need to know ahead of the Europa League group stage draw

  • The Europa League group stage draw takes place on Friday, October 2
  • Arsenal, Leicester and Tottenham are the Premier League teams involved 
  • Celtic and Rangers are also in the draw after winning their play-offs on Thursday 

The major footballing leagues across Europe are in full swing by now, but this week the make up of the continental competitions will also be decided.

The draw for the group stage of the Europa League, which begins next month, takes place on Friday, with Arsenal, Leicester and Tottenham awaiting their fate.

The Premier League trio have been joined by Celtic and Rangers, who were successful in their play-off ties on Thursday night. 

Sevilla were crowned Europa League winners in August but will not be in this year’s contest

But with the coronavirus pandemic still wreaking havoc across Europe, UEFA are braced for the most logistically challenging competition ever.

Here, Sportsmail guide you through everything you need to know about the group stage draw…


The group stage draw will take place on Friday, October 2, from 12pm.


This season’s group-stage draw was originally scheduled to take place in Greece but it has now been moved to Switzerland, where UEFA’s headquarters are based.

The draw will be streamed live via Uefa’s official website, while BT Sport will also provide coverage. 

The final will be played in Gdansk, after last season’s tournament was finished in Germany


Like football matches throughout much of Europe, the draw will now take place behind closed doors with only key personnel present.

That means no club chiefs or legendary former players watching on, so don’t expect to see any grins – or grimaces – as the balls are drawn. 


Pot One: Arsenal, Tottenham, Roma, Napoli, Benfica, Bayer Leverkusen, Villarreal, CSKA Moscow, Braga, Gent, PSV, Celtic

Pot Two: Dinamo Zagreb, Sparta Prague, Slavia Prague, Ludogorets, Young Boys, Red Star Belgrade, Rapid Vienna, Leicester, Qarabag, PAOK, Standard Liege, Real Sociedad

Pot Three: Granada, AC Milan, AZ Alkmaar, Feyenoord, Maccabi Tel-Aviv, AEK Athens, Rangers, Molde, Hoffenheim, LASK, Hapoel Beer-Sheva, Cluj

Pot Four: Zorya Luhansk, Nice, Lille, NK Rijeka, Dundalk, Slovan Liberec, Royal Antwerp, Lech Poznan, Sivasspor, Wolfsberg, Omonia, CSKA Sofia

Arsenal qualified for the Europa League after beating Chelsea in the FA Cup final last month


Ahead of the draw the 48 teams set to compete in the tournament will be divided into four seeding pots, each determined by their coefficient rankings. 

Pot One consists of some of the strongest sides in the competition, like Arsenal, Roma and Napoli.

Twelve groups will be formed, each containing one team from the four seeding tiers.

No team can be drawn against another from the same country.


The deadline for completing group matches in the Champions League and Europa League has been extended to the end of January as UEFA try to Covid-proof both competitions.

Clubs have been told that — as an ‘absolute last resort’ — they can play fixtures up to January 28, well beyond the usual December finishing point.

Matches may be played at neutral venues, should Government rules prevent one of the sides travelling.

If all group matches cannot be completed by January 28, UEFA’s executive committee will decide which clubs qualify for the Champions League round of 16 and the Europa League round of 32.

Some countries hold exemptions allowing for visits from elite athletes, but others do not. 

Should the visiting club be banned from travelling to their opponents’ country, it would fall on their hosts to come up with an alternative venue.

Tottenham will confirm their place in the tournament if they beat Maccabi Haifa this week

The home club would have to pick up the costs of the switch. If they cannot find a different venue and fail to fulfil the match, they will automatically be deemed to have lost the game 3-0. 

If the visiting club is barred from travelling by its own government, the home club will be asked to find a new venue. 

If they fail to do so, UEFA will step in and decide where the game will be played.

Any club refusing to play will be deemed to have forfeited the match, again by a score of 3-0.


Group stage 

Matchday 1: October 22

Matchday 2: October 29

Matchday 3: November 5

Matchday 4: November 26

Matchday 5: December 3

Matchday 6: December 10

Round of 32

First legs: February 18, 2021

Second legs: February 25  

Round of 16

First legs: March 11

Second legs: March 18 


First legs: April 8

Second legs: April 15  


First legs: April 29

Second legs: May 6 


May 26, Gdansk Stadium, Poland

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article